Book Review- Jade and Tar by Victoria Ravenwood

Series: The Water-Folk Saga
Genre: YA Fantasy
My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

An incredible story! When the author asked me if I was interested in reading the book, I first checked the synopsis and the cover, and it got me very excited. I loved them both and had high hopes for the book. I’m so glad it didn’t disappoint.

While the beginning felt a bit slow, it wasn’t boring. The initial world-building was detailed and helped me understand how everything worked. The hierarchies, the role of the Academy, the distinction between the land-folk and water-folk were explained well.

What sucks me into a story are the characters, and the ones in this book were awesome. They weren’t perfect, but that made them very realistic. I liked Cali right from the start. Her fierce attitude and adventurous side appealed to me. However, Dagwood and Wroy stole the show. I loved their positivity despite their circumstances, and the desire to better their life. The supporting characters were equally great and added to the story. My favorite was Sulwyn.

There wasn’t any romance in the book, but I loved the friendships between the characters. Their banter, teasing, and the love they shared for each other were heartwarming.

The mystery and twists kept me guessing the whole time. I couldn’t wait to have the villain pay for what they’d done. Though a few more people needed to be brought to justice, the ending of this book was immensely satisfying.

I can’t wait to see what adventures the next book brings. Eagerly to see what Dagwood and Cali get up to and how the other characters fare.

If you enjoy books with strong friendships, the found-family trope, and loveable characters, then you need to check out this book right now!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started